Concerned Voter Challenges…

In an October 2014 open letter to residents and council, Woodbury Heights resident Debby Lucas Larmer wrote to the local newspaper:

To the Editor,

                I am very concerned about the future of my home town, Woodbury Heights. My family built a home in Woodbury Heights in 1965, where I grew up and graduated from Woodbury Heights Elementary and Gateway Regional High Schools. In 2008, I bought a house in Woodbury Heights because of my fond memories of a small family oriented town, which offers a safe environment, and has an excellent school system for my son. First, my property taxes have increased approximately $3,000 since I bought my house. I fear that Woodbury Heights will become unsustainable for the average family, residents on fixed incomes, and the elderly.

We need to vote for new leadership for Mayor and Council to reform our political decisions. Many of our residents are unaware that the Affordable Income Housing Projects are going forward, and will deplete our resources and thus increase our taxes. I attended a council meeting, where numerous residents attended and signed a petition for a referendum for the matter to be placed on the ballot.  The present Council and Solicitor denied this request.

Most residents do not realize that we can say “NO” to Affordable Income Housing Developments if we were allowed to vote. Many towns in New Jersey have done so to save their towns from unmanageable costs and depletion of resources from over population. Many of our residents also are unaware that the present master plan includes a commuter train and platform that will literally split our town in half. This will affect the safety of our school children walking home and quick access to emergency services.

Please vote for Rose Yerka, a 36 year resident, who is running for Mayor with the “New Heights Team” that includes Anthony Ilisco and Robert Yerka for Council.   For many years, I have seen her diligently go door- to-door to inform residents of present political decisions.  Out of all the candidates, Rose Yerka for Mayor and her Council team have the best interest of our town, and the knowledge to empower our residents to save our hometown from many detrimental changes. Please get to the polls and Vote!

 

Debby Lucas Larmer

Concerned Voter

Leave a comment

Leave a comment